Skip to main navigation.

History of United Electric


United Electric Co-op, Inc. is a member owned nonprofit cooperative which was incorporated on January 1, 1998. United is the result of consolidating Unity Light & Power in Burley, Idaho and Rural Electric Company in Rupert, Idaho.


The Board of Directors from each cooperative were combined to form the new eight (8) member board. Dean Nielsen is President, Bruce Beck is Vice-President and Cordell Searle is Secretary/Treasurer. United Electric employs twenty-six (26) full time employees.


United Electric Co-op is located at 1330 21st Street, Heyburn, Idaho 83336. United Electric provides service to both Minidoka and Cassia counties with approximately 640 miles of line and 6,600 customers with a projected growth rate of 1%. Residential usage is 42% of our power sales, General Service 20%, Industrial 14%, Large Commercial 3% and Irrigation 22%. Our annual operating revenue is $15 million and our annual KWH sales are 270 million. United Electric pays a total of $160,000 in property taxes to Cassia and Minidoka counties.


A current United Electric Co-op rate schedule can be found here.


United Electric is a member of several associations that keep us up to date on the issues that affect the industry. These associations include: National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA), Idaho Consumer-Owned Utilities Association (ICUA), Idaho Energy Authority (IDEA), Northwest Irrigation Utilities (NIU), Snake River Power Association, Ruralite Services, National Rural Utilities Cooperative Finance Corporation (CFC), Idaho Employers Council (IEC), National Rural Telecommunications Cooperative (NRTC), Northwest Public Power Association (NWPPA) and Utah Associated Municipal Power Systems (UAMPS).

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo